We use own and third-party cookies for improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. Ok | More information


Liverpool FC, current champions of Europe

Jürgen Klopp’s side won the Champions League at the Wanda Metropolitano on June 1 and are the current Premier League leaders.

Atleti are to face Liverpool FC in the Champions League last 16. The first leg is to be played at the Wanda Metropolitano on Feb. 18 and the return leg is to take place at Anfield on March 11. Want to know more about the English club? You’ve come to the right place.

Jürgen Klopp’s side are the current European champions – having won the competition at the Wanda Metropolitano on June 1 – and are leading the Premier League. In the Champions League, they finished top of Group E in front of Napoli, Red Bull Salzburg and KRC Genk.

The Merseyside team are undoubtedly one of the world’s strongest sides and are enjoying a spectacular run of form. They’re 25 points ahead of second-placed Manchester City in the Premier League – in which they remain unbeaten 26 games into the competition. Truly incredible numbers.

Liverpool have won the Champions League six times (beating Tottenham 2-0 in the last final at our stadium), 18 league titles, seven FA Cups, eight League Cups, three UEFA Cups and four UEFA Super Cups.

The return leg will be played at one of world football’s most legendary stadiums: Anfield. Inaugurated in 1884, it became the Reds' home in 1892, having previously hosted Everton’s games. The stadium has a capacity for 54,074 spectators. It will be the fourth time we play at Anfield. The first match took place in the 2008/09 Champions League group stage and we earned a 1-1 draw. We then won 2-1 in a pre-season friendly in summer 2009, and lost the return leg of the 2009/10 Europa League semi-finals. Despite that last 2-1 defeat, Diego Forlán’s extra-time goal sent us to the final, which we went on to win in Hamburg against Fulham FC.

Six footballers have played for both Atleti and Liverpool in the last few years: Luis García, Maxi Rodríguez, Javier Manquillo, Sinama-Pongolle, Emiliano Insúa and Fernando Torres. The latter became a fan favourite at both clubs and is currently the Reds’ sixth top scorer in the Premier League era with 65 strikes.

Liverpool’s current squad is:

Liverpool 2019/20

1 Alisson Becker Goalkeeper
13 Adrián San Miguel


22 Andy Lonergan Goalkeeper
62 Caoimhin Kelleher Goalkeeper
2 Nathaniel Clyne Defender
4 Virgil van Dijk Defender
6 Dejan Lovren Defender
12 Joe Gomez Defender
26 Andy Robertson Defender
32 Joel Matip Defender
51 Ki-Jana Hoever Defender
66 Trent Alexander-Arnold Defender
72 Sepp van der Berg Defender
3 Fabinho Tavares Midfielder
5 Georginio Wijnaldum Midfielder
7 James Milner Midfielder
8 Naby Keita Midfielder
14 Jordan Henderson Midfielder
15 Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain Midfielder
20 Adam Lallana Midfielder
23 Xherdan Shaqiri Midfielder
48 Curtis Jones Midfielder
67 Harvey Elliott Midfielder
9 Roberto Firmino Striker
10 Sadio Mane Striker
11 Mohamed Salah Striker
18  Takumi Minamino Striker
27 Divock Origi Striker