Simeone wins IFFHS Best Club Coach of the Decade

The Argentine is the most successful coach in our club’s history, having won seven titles (LaLiga, Copa del Rey, Spanish Super Cup, two Europa Leagues and two UEFA Super Cups).

The International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) has named Diego Pablo Simeone as the best club coach of the last decade (2011-2020) ahead of Pep Guardiola and Jürgen Klopp. The top 20 yearly ranking was taken into account to determine the winner – and our coach earned 152 points. Our coach won the yearly award in 2016 ahead of Zinedine Zidane and Claudio Ranieri.

The Argentine has overseen 502 games as our coach, registering 302 wins, 118 draws and 82 defeats. Only Luis Aragonés (612) has more matches as Atleti manager.

Since he took over, Simeone has won seven titles: LaLiga, Copa del Rey, Europa League (x2), UEFA Super Cup (x2) and Spanish Super Cup.

The IFFHS ranking is as follows:

Diego Pabli SIMEONE - 152 points
Josep GUARDIOLA - 144 points
Jürgen KLOPP - 105 points
Jose MOURINHO - 91 points
Maximiliano ALLEGRI - 77 points
Unai EMERY - 70 points
Zinedine ZIDANE - 59 points
Carlo ANCELOTTI - 57 points
Mauriccio POCHETTINO - 56 points
Marcelo GALLARDO - 56 points
Antonio CONTE - 53 points
Claudio RANIERI - 36 points
Alex FERGUSON - 35 points
Luis ENRIQUE - 35 points
Josef HEYNCKES - 34 points
Ernesto VALVERDE - 26 points
Arsene WENGER - 25 points
Leonardo JARDIM - 25 points
Jesse MARSH - 22 points
Laurent BLANC - 21 points