We use own and third-party cookies for improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. Ok | More information


Miguel Ángel Gil elected as new member of the ECA Executive Board

Our CEO has received the majority support of the football association’s member clubs and will be part of its executive body.

Miguel Ángel Gil Marín has been elected as a new member of the Executive Board of the European Club Association (ECA) during the General Assembly held on Monday and Tuesday in Geneva. A majority of European clubs have voted for our CEO, who will be part of the association’s executive body, whose objectives are to promote and protect the interests of European clubs and their key role in world football, as well as the cooperation between the continent’s football entities.

Apart from Miguel Ángel Gil Marin, Liverpool CEO Peter Moore, Borussia Dortmund CEO Hans Joachim Watzke, Inter Milan President Steven Zhang and Arsenal Football Director Raúl Sanllehí have been elected to the Board of Directors. These five new members join the Executive Board, which already included Andrea Agnelli (Juventus), Pedro López Jiménez (Real Madrid), Edwin Van der Sar (Ajax), Dariusz Mioduski (Legia), Aki Riihilahti (HJK Helsinki), Josep Maria Bartomeu (FC Barcelona), Nasser Al-Khelaifi (PSG), Ed Woodward (Manchester United), Jean Michel Aulas (Olympique Lyonnais) and Michael Gerlinger (Bayern Munich). Andrea Agnelli was also re-elected as ECA President until 2023 during the assembly.

In the 2019-20 season, the ECA is made up of 246 European clubs, of which 109 are ordinary members and 137 are associate members. The number of ordinary members is defined by the UEFA ranking of each national federation. In the case of Spain, leader of the UEFA ranking, it has the right to five clubs as ordinary members, which are also defined on the basis of the UEFA club ranking, where Atlético de Madrid occupies the 4th global position. Each national federation has at least one ECA ordinary member club.