We use own and third-party cookies for improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. Ok | More information


Atletico make their 19th Cup final

After securing their place in the final at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan the club from the bank of the Manzanares will play their 19th cup final, the 5th final in the last three years.

Upon arrival at the helm of Atletico Madrid, Diego Pablo Simeone defined the club as "a cup team" and the Argentina was right in what he said. The coach will lead his third final since he became manager of the club, the 19th in the clubs history.

In the 18 previous finals, luck has been divided with 9 wins and 9 losses. The vast majority of the trophies (8) were won in the Bernabeu, while La Romareda witnessed the first of two titles in the Double years. The first final we played took place in San Mames in 1921, while the first trophy was won in 1960 at the Bernabeu with Real Madrid as rival, te same team who we will meet in the final in May.

All the cup finals we've played:

1921 Athletic Club 4-1 Atlético de Madrid (San Mamés)

1926 F.C Barcelona 3-2 Atlético de Madrid (Mestalla)

1921 Athletic 4-1 Atlético de Madrid (San Mamés)

1926 Barcelona 3-2 Atlético de Madrid (Mestalla)

1956 Athletic 2-0 Atlético de Madrid (Chamartín)

1960 Atlético de Madrid 3-1 Real Madrid (Santiago Bernabéu)

1961 Atlético de Madrid 3-2 Real Madrid (Santiago Bernabéu)

1964 Zaragoza 2-1 Atlético de Madrid (Santiago Bernabéu)

1965 Atlético de Madrid 1-0 Real Zaragoza (Santiago Bernabéu)

1972 Atlético de Madrid 2-1 Valencia (Santiago Bernabéu)

1975 Real Madrid 0-0 (4-3 pen.) Atlético de Madrid (Vicente Calderón)

1976 Atlético de Madrid 1-0 Real Zaragoza (Santiago Bernabéu)

1985 Atlético de Madrid 2-1 Athletic Club (Santiago Bernabéu)

1987 Real Sociedad 2-2 (4-2 pen.) Atlético de Madrid (La Romareda)

1991 Atlético de Madrid 1-0 Mallorca (Santiago Bernabéu)