We use own and third-party cookies for improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. Ok | More information

Pulido, Alberto Perea, Koke and goalkeeper Iago, novelties in the roster against Universidad (9 pm)

The team receives the side from the Canary Islands in the Copa del Rey after the 0-5 result in the first leg

The ‘rojiblanco’ first squad held a morning training session at the Majadahonda Sports Complex which lasted an hour-and-a-quarter. Also, before the work got underway, all of the players passed through the office of the Club nutritionist, Doctor David Jiménez, to undergo anthropometry and electrical impedance tests. These exams check the body fat, muscle mass and hydration controls.

Most of the players who started against Real Madrid did specific work in the gym. Agüero, who didn’t practice on Monday due to a light flu, did alternative work with Óscar Pitillas, alongside Godín and Borja González. Atlético B players Gallegos also participated in the first squad session. After a physical warm-up with the ball, the team did crossing drills with finishing. The defence was formed by Perea, Juanito, Pulido and Antonio López, with Assunçao, Camacho and Raúl García in the middle, Alberto Perea and Gallegos on the right wing and Koke on the left, and Diego Costa alone in attack. Joel and Asenjo took turns in goal.

In another area, Miguel Peiró, the physical trainer, did specific work with Mario Suárez, Valera, Forlán, Filipe Luis and Tiago. To finish, they played a seven-on-seven scrimmage on the half-pitch. Wearing bibs were Asenjo, Pulido, Perea, Assunçao, Gallegos, Koke and Diego Costa. And without bibs were Joel, Juanito, Fran Mérida, Antonio López, Raúl García, Alberto Perea and Camacho. Afterwards, the ‘rojiblancos’ had a penalty shootout.

The team is called upon to meet at Estadio Vicente Calderón on Wednesday at 7 pm. The 16-player squad list is formed by the following players:
27  Joel
50  Iago

2 Valera
3 Antonio López
14 Filipe Luis
16 Juanito
21 Perea
43 Pulido

4 Mario Suárez
6 Camacho
8 Raúl García
11 Fran Mérida
12 Assunçao
32 Koke

22 Diego Costa
49 Alberto Perea