We use own and third-party cookies for improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. Ok | More information


A champion with history

Leicester City won their first Premier League title last season, after 132 years of history. This edition of the Champions League is the first time they participate in the continent's top club competition.

Our next rival in the quarter-finals of the Champions League will be the English team Leicester City, current champion of the Premier League. A club with more than 132 years of history that was founded in 1884 by a group of students of Wyggeston School that they created a football team under Leicester Fosse's name.

In the 1907/1908 season, they were promoted to the top flight of England’s maximum competition but they were only there for a season. In the 20’s, they changed their name to Leicester City Football Club and were runners up in 1929.

In 1949, they played their first FA Cup final, which they lost by 3-1 against Wolverhampton Wanderers. In 1961, 1962 and 1969 they also reached the final but did not win the longed title.

It won the League Cup titles in 1997 and 2000. In 2002, they inaugurated their new stadium, with capacity for 32,000 people, named the King Power Stadium.

But in 2008 they suffered the worst crisis of the club when they were relegated to the third tier. As the years went by, they were promoted to the Premier League again. And after 132 years of history, last season, with Claudio Ranieri as the club’s manager, they made history by winning their first English League title, captivating half of the world.